2024: Z … A to Z of my DNA and Me: Zee DNA Results of the Granddaughter’s… Finally, In!

Zee GRANDDAUGHTERS’ RESULTS ARE FINALLY IN!!!

Earlier this year I sent DNA kits to my son and daughter for testing my granddaughters… and the results have arrived in time for me to compare and include here in my April A to Z challenge writing on DNA.

Our Shared DNA

  • Helen McKinley Bryan (my mother) 3,441 cM / 50% shared DNA to me
  • Son: 3,462 cM / 50% shared DNA from me
  • Daughter: 3,462 cM / 50% shared DNA from me
  • Nina: 2,103cM across 26 segments
    • Ana: 1,308 cM across 19 segments
    • Ella: 1,861 cM across 21 segments
    • McKinley: 1,544 cM across 32 segments
    • Grace: 1,154 cM across 31 segments

First results to arrive back was granddaughter Nina… No. 2 twin… next, Ella… the oldest, and Ana… twin No. 1.

Granddaughter Nina certainly has no outstanding Scottish characteristic like the traditional fair skin or red hair… clearly looking more Italian with the olive skin and very dark hair.

In viewing my daughter in law’s Ethnicity…. she shows 16% England & Northwestern Europe… 6% Wales… 4% Scotland… and 3% Sweden & Denmark. So, this shows me that not all of the countries in what I first thought of as my ethnicity to the granddaughters… are completely from me and my mother… their great grandmother, Helen McKinley… known as “Angel” to all the grandchildren.

Granddaughter’s results from Southern Italy show a higher percentage vs their father; their mother shows 54% Southern Italy. All three granddaughter’s show Northern Italy… but those results may have come from their mother at 9% Northern Italy; both her parents were born in Southern Italy, near Naples… emigrating here in the 1960’s. Somehow, through her parents, there is ancestry through them into Northern Italy. Possibly another “trace”… Northern Italy is through their great-great grandparents, Stefano & Giacinta (DiRosa) Insalaco, as their daughter “VI” shows Northern Italy on her ethnicity… so that proves there is Northern Italy ethnicity on either Insalaco or DiRosa. Even though it skipped hubby (their grandfather) and my son… it still might possibly be through their lines. Confused… Me to!

Percentages showing… Southern Italy/Northern Italy of Stephen D. (father/grandfather), Stephen (son/dad) to three daughters/granddaughters. Funny how the daughter’s inherited more than their father, but that’s because their mother is more full Italian… whereas my son is only half Italian.

Comparing my mother (Helen McKinley) me, and 3 granddaughters.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m happy to see that the two red-headed granddaughters inherited some numbers from my Scottish side… which still boggles me with my Ireland/Scotland results. I previously had called myself Irish… but now I have to say I’m definitely more Scottish. With their high percentages… no wonder they both have red hair!

Me, my mother (Helen McKinley), my daughter, and granddaughters McKinley and Grace showing sizeable amounts of Irish… along with Scottish from their great-grandmother and myself. Their father is 92% Irish… which helped to give them their high percentages.

All my Scottish/Irish and England Ancestry comes through my mother (McKinley) and father (Bryan). I believe the Scottish line is more through my mother, with the English/Wales/Sweden/Ireland/Norway through my father. Funny how my Irish ancestry didn’t follow through to either my daughter son… but yet my husband has a 1% showing. My son’s daughters have inherited no Ireland ancestry, but they do have percentages of Scottish… with twin Ana the highest. Funny how Ella looks more Irish/Scottish and has the least numbers, with the twins, looking more Italian, and having the highest Scotland numbers.

My husband’s Italian ancestry shown here with our daughter and her daughters.

It’s been quite interesting in seeing how what my children and granddaughters inherited through the family lines. Some were surprises in as they looked to have more another ethnicity… which shows you that you can’t pinpoint someone’s ancestry by their looks alone.

Thanks for Reading

Jeanne

Thank You everyone who followed me along in my DNA ethnicity and traits this month. Most of my followers have also completed the A to Z and it’s been a fun ride in reading your posts daily and chatting with you. I’ll look forward to what you’ll come up with next year… and I’m already thinking of what I’ll write on.

To read more 2024: A to Z of DNA and more, click HERE.

© 2024, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Previous Years A to Z April Challenges…

2016: A to Z Southern Foods and Memories… they said write what you know… and being a girl born in the South… well this was what I knew.
2017: A to Z Conversations with Mama… it was a somewhat easy one for me to write as I’d journaled our conversations for years… I researched favorite topics to write.
2018: A to Z All About Nancy Drew… this one has been my favorite topic so far, and I don’t know if I’ll ever come up with another one to equal it
2019: A to Z Italian Famiglia Foods and Memories… I felt it was time to finally write the favorites of my husbands family foods.
2020: A to Z Family Stories… writing the stories of my husband’s family.
2021: A to Z of Mama in Photos... blogging on my mother through photos and memories      2022: A to Z Time Travels… Time Traveling through my blog… and more.          2023: A to Z The Best of our Journals… blogging on journals of hubby and I.

About Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

My blog is at: https://everyonehasafamilystorytotell.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 2024: 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks, Daily Writings and funnies..., DNA: My Results are in, Family Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 2024: Z … A to Z of my DNA and Me: Zee DNA Results of the Granddaughter’s… Finally, In!

  1. Anne Young says:

    congratulations on finishing the challenge. It has been very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As someone affected by a DNA surprise I have found your intensive study of DNA an inspiration to look more deeply at my own results. Congratulations on making it to Z and I have enjoyed the journey with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kristin says:

    Only three of my twelve grandchildren have done dna tests. I haven’t compared them as closely as you did. Our is so from so many different places. Some I can pinpoint – the Chinese and the Native American coming through their father’s side.

    Congratulations on finishing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. DB McNicol says:

    What a fantastic job with a tough theme – congratulations on completing the A-Z challenge!

    https://dbmcnicol.com/2024-a-to-z-reflections/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s been quite a month, glad I joined this month. I’ve never done any DNA testing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.