Friday Night Family Heirlooms… telling their stories: The Biscuit Making Bread Bowls and Butter Molds

Friday Night Family Heirlooms… telling their stories:

When “heirlooms” aren’t identified, and their stories never told, they often become items tossed or sold – as they have no history, no ties to the family. So take the time to identify your family heirlooms history and record your memories so the family treasures aren’t tossed in the trash. They are just as valuable as your family photographs and also need to be documented. Sometimes it’s not even the value of the item in question; it’s the story which holds the value.

The Biscuit Making Bread Bowls and Butter Molds

mckinley heirloom_0002 (800x562)

These bread bowls, rolling pins and butter molds were part of staple necessities in Grandmama McKinley’s kitchen.

Grandmama made her biscuits from “no” recipe, just the feel of the dough with her hands, and that is also how my mother makes hers, but me… well I had to write out a “somewhat” recipe. Although I have to say, that the more I have made them, I can add a little bit more of this and that and “yes” I do know the feel of the dough.

I learned to make biscuits the old country way, no rolling, just pinch off a ball of dough, roll, and lightly press down in your pan. My choice of cooking pans to bake biscuits is a cast iron pan, and mama always taught me to keep them close together, as it helps them to rise instead of spread.

Grandmama made a lot of butter, and mama should know as she was the one sitting behind the butter churn. On Saturdays when they went to town, grandmama often took a few pounds of butter to trade off for other things she didn’t make. I’m told she sold butter and eggs and saved her extra cream to sell to the “cream” man who came around once a month; except for the time mama decided to take a cream bath!

One of these days, I’m going to clean that bread bowl, add flour, un-measured just like grandmama, and make biscuits… then I’ll write a biscuit making post.

My biscuits – Before and After!

signature-blog-card

Click Friday Night Family Heirlooms to  read more stories…

© 2017, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

Family Heirloom Bloggers:

I started a Family Heirloom challenge in November 2015 asking fellow bloggers to join me in telling the stories of their family heirlooms. Writing the stories of the family heirlooms I’ve been entrusted with has been on my mind for a long time; the time is now and I plan to write their stories on a weekly basis.

Please check out the weekly Family Heirloom stories of…

Blogger: Cathy Meder-Dempsey at Opening Doors in Brick Walls
Blogger: Karen Biesfeld at Vorfahrensucher
Blogger: Kendra Schmidt at trekthrutime
Blogger: Linda Stufflebean at Empty Branches on the Family Tree
Blogger:  Schalene Jennings Dagutis at Tangled Roots and Trees
Blogger: True Lewis at Notes to Myself
Blogger: Vera Marie Badertscher at Ancestors in Aprons                              Blogger: Heather Lisa Dubnick at  Little Oak Blog
Blogger: Kathy Rice at https://everyleafhasastory.wordpress.com/2016/01/29/heirloom-afghan/
Blogger: Mary Harrell-Sesniak at  Genealogy Bank Heirlooms Blog
Blogger: Amy Johnson Crow’s 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks theme for 2015 Week 24 was Heirlooms. Check out her Blog at –  52 Ancestors Challenge 2015: Week 24 Recap  for links to more Heirloom posts.

This entry was posted in Daily Writings and funnies..., Friday Night Family Heirlooms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Night Family Heirlooms… telling their stories: The Biscuit Making Bread Bowls and Butter Molds

  1. Evelyn Smith says:

    Nice story. I learned to make biscuits from Grandma Grace, just like you did from Aunt Ola. I’ve used recipes over the years but nothing beats the old way. The only real difference is that Grandma Grace used either a pie tin or a cake pan, which is what I have used over the years. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a cast iron pan but I will with the next batch. Will let you know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

