31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 22

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 22

I’m taking Amy Crow’s challenge for 31 Days to Better Genealogy and blog Amy’s questions, with my answers; I plan to make one blog post, adding daily. Hopefully by the end of the 31 days, I will learn how to better solve some of my genealogy questions. If you haven’t signed up yet, just click on the link below… never too late to catch up!

31 Days to Better Genealogy by Amy Johnson Crow gives you practical steps to make your research more productive. Whether you are just beginning to climb your family tree or have been doing this for years, you can adapt the tips and methods in 31 Days to Better Genealogy to suit your needs.

31-day-image

Day 22 – Explore HistoryPin and WhatWasThere

Cool! Amy is talking me into the past through time machine sites. I can’t wait to explore!!!
And “YES” it would be so cool to go back in time. But imagine if you did something to alter history’s course, as to what you’ve lived through. I might not end up being “ME”… and not have the same parents, grandparents, or husband, or children or my five beautiful granddaughters. Oh My… I guess I better stay put in this time-zone… and just dream about what would happen!

The two websites Amy has directed me to take an adventure on are:
HistoryPin.org
WhatWasThere.com  

                 And I discovered….   WhatWasThere on Facebook 

and HistoryPin on Facebook

 They sound awesome as who doesn’t want to see historic views of “then and now” via Google Street. The good part – they are “free” sites.

street-scene-greensboro

A street scene in Greensboro, Georgia. I’m assuming this building would have been in between the two showing. I can’t wait to look around! Photo from using WhatWasThere site on Google street view.

These are sites I’ll be bookmarking to explore at another time. Hmm… what towns will I be exploring… will it be Dahlonega, Siloam, Union Point, Perry, or Greensboro in Georgia or maybe explore over in Europe with Canicatti, Sicily, Italy. The possibilities sound endless… Where’s my “THANK YOU” Amy button?

So Let’s Explore – Love to hear what you discover!

Click Here For More 31 Days to Better Genealogy

© 2016, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

This entry was posted in 31 Days to Better Genealogy: Ver. 2.0, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

