31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 19

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 19

I’m taking Amy Crow’s challenge for 31 Days to Better Genealogy and blog Amy’s questions, with my answers; I plan to make one blog post, adding daily. Hopefully by the end of the 31 days, I will learn how to better solve some of my genealogy questions. If you haven’t signed up yet, just click on the link below… never too late to catch up!

31 Days to Better Genealogy by Amy Johnson Crow gives you practical steps to make your research more productive. Whether you are just beginning to climb your family tree or have been doing this for years, you can adapt the tips and methods in 31 Days to Better Genealogy to suit your needs.

31-day-image

Day 19 – Check Out Linkpendium

I’m excited, as always, to discover a new site – a “newbie” to me!

Today Amy recommends trying linkpendium.com – which offers over 10 million links “to everything on the Web about families worldwide and genealogical information on U. S. states and counties. Well this surely will keep me busy – guess there will be no cooking in the kitchen today!

While many of the linked resources are paid sites, many are free. Amy mentions that their search engine is called “Family Discoveries” and searches more than 2 million sites. Wow! Sounds exactly like a Google just for genealogy – Thanks Amy!!!

So my mission today, should I decide to accept – is to check out Linkpendium!

While being on vacation – my searches and writings are becoming harder and harder every day…. but I still keep trying. I took a whirl around the site with my limited Internet, but nothing immediately popped up for me. I laughed when I found registered voters in Ct. on Insalaco Drive…. although I knew about the road…. as I’ve taken a photo of the sign with my son standing next to it…. it was funny to find registered voters listed as living on it.

One of my main searches, that I constantly look for is… when and where my Joseph Thomas Sharp (1835-1910?) died… and buried. He last lived with his son in Augusta, Georgia… as listed on the 1910 census. The 1920 census found him no longer in their household, so I’m assuming he died. But it’s not the first time I assumed he died, as he previously lived with his daughter Rosie (Sharp) McKinley in Hancock Co., Georgia, as listed on the 1900 census. If you have any suggestions – I’m open to them!!!

I Found This Posted on Linkpendium – Maybe I can Help!

Linkpendium’s goal is to index every genealogy record 🙂 family history, family tree, surname, vital records, biography, or otherwise genealogically-related site on the Internet. PLEASE HELP! When you find a useful new resource, go to the right Linkpendium page and click on the “Add your favorite Website(s) to this page” link. Thanks from all of us at Linkpendium!

Click Here For More 31 Days to Better Genealogy

© 2016, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

This entry was posted in 31 Days to Better Genealogy: Ver. 2.0, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

