31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 18

 

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 18

I’m taking Amy Crow’s challenge for 31 Days to Better Genealogy and blog Amy’s questions, with my answers; I plan to make one blog post, adding daily. Hopefully by the end of the 31 days, I will learn how to better solve some of my genealogy questions. If you haven’t signed up yet, just click on the link below… never too late to catch up!

31 Days to Better Genealogy by Amy Johnson Crow gives you practical steps to make your research more productive. Whether you are just beginning to climb your family tree or have been doing this for years, you can adapt the tips and methods in 31 Days to Better Genealogy to suit your needs.

31-day-image

Day 18 – Use “Other” Censuses

Amy’s tip today… “explore the non-population schedules that are available on Ancestry and FamilySearch; also check the FamilySearch.wiki to see if there are any “other” censuses for the area of our search.

I knew about the “non-population” census from other tips of Amy’s and have checked them out; in addition to them, there are also…

  • Agriculture schedules
  • Industry schedules
  • 1890 Special schedule of Union veterans and widows
  •  1880 Schedule of Defective, Dependent and Delinquent Classes

Some states even took their own censuses, usually midpoint between the federal census. I’m sure most researchers would agree, that too bad it wasn’t mandatory on having state census.

Our research assignment from Amy is to explore those non-population schedules and specialized censuses, like those for veterans or school-age youths.

I’m grabbing my Kleenex and hitting the Internet…..

I have searched a few non-population schedules in the past and found them quite interesting as I learned what animals were on their farms – what vegetables they grew – and what crops grown. As most of my southern ancestors were dirt farmers, they all seemed to have grown cotton. Anyone who had a farm, always had the basic necessities to support their families. They raised chickens for food and eggs – the family garden supported their vegetable needs – milking cows supplied them with milk, cream and butter – beef cows were raised for beef and pigs supplied the pork. My granddaddy McKinley only raised pigs for pork products like ham and bacon; nothing on the pig was wasted – the fats they even rendered into soap, lard and chitterlings, and the night meal was always brains and eggs – so my mother tells me. There was a smokehouse at his farm where he hung the hams after curing them in salt. Killing the hogs was always done in the fall – all hands were needed – and he often hired extras for the day.

I’m looking forward to further searching of censuses Amy mentioned, but it will have to be another day; I’ll add a link back here when I post.

Click Here For More 31 Days to Better Genealogy

© 2016, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

This entry was posted in 31 Days to Better Genealogy: Ver. 2.0, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

