31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 16

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 16

I’m taking Amy Crow’s challenge for 31 Days to Better Genealogy and blog Amy’s questions, with my answers; I plan to make one blog post, adding daily. Hopefully by the end of the 31 days, I will learn how to better solve some of my genealogy questions. If you haven’t signed up yet, just click on the link below… never too late to catch up!

31 Days to Better Genealogy by Amy Johnson Crow gives you practical steps to make your research more productive. Whether you are just beginning to climb your family tree or have been doing this for years, you can adapt the tips and methods in 31 Days to Better Genealogy to suit your needs.

31-day-image

Day 16 – Use the FamilySearch Word Lists

Well I’m slightly embarrassed that I didn’t know of “Word Lists.” It’s been awhile since I had need in searching out the meaning of words… this will be a push to go back and take another look at some of the Italian records I have on my husband’s line.

In scanning through the Latin Word Lists I stopped on “domenica” – that is my husband’s grandmothers’ name – Domenica translates in Latin to “Sunday.” Hmm, now why was she named that, I didn’t find it as a family name passed down – could she have been born on Sunday? That would be my guess! (I must check that on a calendar)

A few interesting words as I scanned the Latin Word List

  • obiit: died without issue; our word of obit, which is shortened for obituary is similar – might I assume it came from the Latin word?
  • uix nata: legitimately born (born to a married couple) I’ll have to look for this one in my Italian records.

In scanning through the list, I also see how many of our English words have translated over from Latin and some still spelled the same – and many are even the same words we use today, like senior, extra, pauper and census. Now when I’m reading wills and land records, I know where to go in finding exactly the definition of words I’m unsure of.

As I search Italian records, the Family Search Italian word list will be helpful in better understanding what I’m trying to read. My husband’s grandfather was a barber, which in Italian translates to barbiere; often many words in the word lists have part of the root word – which helps you decipher what the English word would be… such as  genealogia – to  genealogy.

Further searching for Italian information on Family Search led me to: https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Category:Letter_Writing_Guides

Italy Letter Writing Guide

how-to-in-italian

A sample of basic “how to write in Italian” from Family Search

There are more other “letter writing guides” but I chose to continue searching on anything Italian today! Go check them out…

Click Here For More 31 Days to Better Genealogy

© 2016, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

 

 

This entry was posted in 31 Days to Better Genealogy: Ver. 2.0, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

