31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 10

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 10: Version 2.0

31-day-image

31 Days to Better Genealogy – Day 10

I’m taking Amy Crow’s challenge for 31 Days to Better Genealogy and blog Amy’s questions, with my answers; I plan to make one blog post, adding daily. Hopefully by the end of the 31 days, I will learn how to better solve some of my genealogy questions. If you haven’t signed up yet, just click on the link below… never too late to catch up!

31 Days to Better Genealogy by Amy Johnson Crow gives you practical steps to make your research more productive. Whether you are just beginning to climb your family tree or have been doing this for years, you can adapt the tips and methods in 31 Days to Better Genealogy to suit your needs.

Day 10 – Organize a Stack of Papers

Yes Amy…. I groaned… thinking… well this is no fun! Research is fun and interesting, but the organizing part, well couldn’t I just wave my magic wand and it all…. well you know…just file itself away!

That’s the one draw-back to genealogy – it creates a paper chase – all over the place. Even though we keep many items digital, that also creates filing is sues; you still need to file them in document files on your computer. Amy must have snuck into my house, as she talked about piles on the kitchen table and coffee table, but she must not have looked on my dining room table. Haven’t eaten in there for awhile, but I did clean it off recently, although it’s just like a magnet…. draws it right back!

Amy’s tips on organizing your papers, fits perfectly… as just the other day, in looking for a pension record that I knew I had, but couldn’t find, and why? Because of not being as organized, as I should. Personally, I think every genealogist should just hire a secretary, then we would be free to research and write and someone would keep us organized. Who’s with me on that idea?

Why do we not keep ourselves organized?

  • Too many papers to file… becomes overwhelming!
  • Never enough free time!
  • Yes I feel guilty, but…

It was nice to read that I’m not the only one who discovers a book you bought is a duplicate of the one under the pile of papers “still” on your desk. We buy books, then never find time to read and then buy again. What are we thinking!

Ok, so today is the day – it’s either now or never…. I did try and make contact with that “Office Fairy” Amy mentioned, but so far she hasn’t returned my call.

Amy’s To-Do:

 Like Amy suggested, “take one pile of papers and sort.”

So I took a deep breath and plopped my black bag on the table and slowly went through all the bits and pieces of papers and sorted them into some sort of a better order. Mind you, it wasn’t perfect, but at least I know what’s in there. And I even managed to throw away some paper…. genealogist hate to throw away paper!

img_1876

At least it’s contained in one spot – off my coffee table!

Will I get it all sorted, filed and organized in one day – Absolutely Not! I certainly didn’t create this mess in one day, but every step I take toward organizing it, is better than taking no steps. I’m looking forward to this as I might just find a few things I’ve been searching for. (And my dining room table will thank me.)

I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s tip – Amy promised it’d be something we would enjoy!

Click Here For More 31 Days to Better Genealogy

© 2016, copyright Jeanne Bryan Insalaco; all rights reserved

 

 

This entry was posted in 31 Days to Better Genealogy: Ver. 2.0, Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

