Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: Z

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: Z

Letter Z – I made it to the end!!!

The Blogging from A to Z challenge was to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I started with the letter A and made it all the way to letter Z. Hope you enjoyed the read with me!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Foods and Memories

Zip-a-dee-doo-dah, zip-a-dee-ay …my or my it’s a wonderful day – I finished, I wrote it, I made it to the end! Ok, now that I have you humming that Z tune – well don’t forget that you came here to read. LOL

ZMama never cooked Zucchini when I was growing up, although we both love it now. The “Z” can also be for those Zoo animal crackers, which I do remember eating as a child – didn’t you just love that box with all the animal pictures on the box? But they don’t don’t taste the same – like they did in the day! Or is it just me – I guess my taste buds have changed a wee bit. I know for sure I enjoy many more Italian favorites now than I did as a child – which would have been none!!!

Have you ever added zucchini to a cake? I make chocolate zucchini cake and believe it or not, the zucchini makes for a most delicious moist cake!

Although not Southern – but it’s Southern Italian…. hehehe…. Zabaglione, a sweetened egg custard; and sometimes spelled Zabaione. My son has made this for me several times and it’s utterly delish! He made me a chocolate custard one with strawberries – Oh it was so good. I must ask him to make this again for me! He makes it the best…

More Italian “Z” foods…. Boy this post would have been easier for Italian foods!

Zafferano – saffron
Zenzero – ginger; red pepper
Zucca – pumpkin; squash, winter squash
Zucchero – sugar
Zucchine, zucchini – summer squash, zucchini

I love lemon and orange “zest.” Awe come on, it comes off a fruit and who in the South doesn’t use lemon and orange zest. I’ve used the zest of lemons to make some great Italian Limoncello and what’s better than Southern Lemonade!

Now if I had been writing on great “scrabble” Z words, then I could have had so many more choices, like here. My mother in law was a big scrabble player with her sister – sometimes they let me play. LOL I wasn’t very good like they were – they had this really huge dictionary and if the word was in there – top or bottom – well it was ok with them. It was funny to see the prefix’s they came up with.

OK… back to food – sorry, but I took a side-step in my thoughts…

In growing up Southern, I’m still a yes ‘mam, sweet iced-tea drinking, boiled peanuts, grits, fried chicken, sweet potatoes, black eyed peas, fried corn, butter beans, fried okra, upside down pineapple cake, peach cobbler, sweet potato pie, pecan pie, blackberry cobbler,  Brunswick Stew and Bar-B-Que kind of a girl who’ll never forget or stop loving her Southern foods  from A to Z.

Even though my Southern accent has escaped me, except for a few words, my memories of growing up in the South and all that good food I grew up on still resides deep within my heart. Darn – where did my accent escape to – and where did that girl go? I must hunt them down!!!

I will always be a “Girl Raized in the South” – and proud to be! Hey I added another Z – LOL!

I inherited my mother’s craftiness, my grandmother’s talents in sewing and crocheting and as for my love of writing – I haven’t figured out yet, from whom I owe that to. My mother swears that it isn’t from her – she hates to even write her name.  And as for my cooking ability, it definitely comes from my mother and grandmother. Hmm, what did I get from my father… naps, stubbornness, and his eyes:)

A to Z

I’ve been given plenty of Mama’s homegrown Southern wisdom throughout my life and it’s made me the woman I am today. I hope you have enjoyed reading my collection of home-grown A to Z Southern food stories and memories in as much as I have had in writing them.

I will always be a “Girl raised in the South.” 

And if you haven’t had enough of A to Z…

Then you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

Thank YouThank YouThank You so much for stopping by to read! I sincerely hope you enjoyed my foods and stories. Please come back and check out my other reads… and leave me words. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE reading your words!

And if you’re wondering how many words I’ve written in the A to Z challenge – well the total is 21,195…..

Thanks for stopping by jeanne

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: Z

  1. I loved reading this and now have to find the rest of your stories!!
    Love ya, Carlene from Holcomb’s BBQ ( IN GEORGIA 😉 !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyn Smith says:

    Zucchini. That is a vegetable I eat only in a soup recipe I found about twenty years ago. It is a soup I need to make again and keep telling myself to do so, but just haven’t listed the ingredients for purchase.
    Great story, as usual. That summary sentence was a bit like Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious but not atrocious and it pretty well summed up your A-Z foods.
    I also enjoyed the way you included your roots and influences. You have a wonderful talent and I’ve so enjoyed reading all your stories, not just these.
    I don’t know how you find the time to do your writings but I do look forward to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lyn, thanks for your encouraging words you’ve left throughout! It was fun writing them all, and there were times when I thought I had nothing, and Bingo….the words flowed out! I think I’ll print these up for mama. I have more A to Z ideas, but may have to incorporate them into another idea! Stay tuned….

      Like

  3. I remember animal crackers. I think you’re right that the memory of them is better than the actual taste. Congrats on finishing the A to Z Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mason Canyon says:

    Jeanne, congratulations on finishing the A to Z Challenge. As one Southern girl to another…hey y’all so glad to meet ya. Looking forward to dropping back by.

    Mason
    Alex’s Ninja Minion

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on completing the challenge!
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wendy says:

    Zucchini and squash — bleh. And yet everyone can grow these veggies so easily and everyone wants to give them away to ME who doesn’t like either one. If it weren’t for recipes for zucchini bread, I’d have no use for zucchini at all. Doesn’t it figure? Congratulations on completing the challenge with such consistent depth of thought and enthusiasm. I enjoyed your stories a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations on finishing the A-Z this year. Though I missed seeing many of them, its to have been a fun theme.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

