Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: Y

Blogging from A to Z: April ~2016: Y

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with letter A and hopefully I”ll make it all the way to letter Z. Hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

YDon’t you just love “Y”ellow squash… I could eat myself silly with it peeled and boiled with a little butter. Mama loves the yellow, not so much the green but I like both prepared in different ways. The yellow is super sweet and so good.

Can you tell me what the difference is really between a “YYam and a Sweet Potato. I Yam what I am says Popeye! The only difference I look for is maybe if one is cheaper than the other. There seems to be a difference of color inside and shape, but I’m not fussy, I think the taste is close.

I don’t believe in the South we ever ate the yellow blossoms that grew on the squash plants, but I sure do love them now. I was introduced to them by my husband’s Italian grandmother. I remember walking alongside her in the garden as she showed me how to pick them – and she told me that I must always drop them inside a paper bag. You only pick the blooms from the male plant, which produces no squash – it’s only the female plant which yields a squash. There will still be a flower on the end of the male plant and some people pick them along with the small squash attached. But Grandma Minnie told me not to – and I always listened to her!

IMG_1945 (1024x767)

These were freshly bought at the local farmers market. I can’t grow anything here – as my squirrels help themselves!

One of the most important things to remember before coming into the house was to close the bag tightly. Why you ask? Before opening the bag in the house, you must make sure you hear no buzzing inside the bag – as that would mean a bee had hidden in the blooms.

Grandma Minnie tore the blossoms with her hands and dropped them into a batter, almost like a tempura or pancake batter – dropping by heaping tablespoons into hot oil. Oh they were so delicious freshly fried! Some people pinch out the stamen, and dredge the entire blossom into the batter and fry whole and some place a small square of mozzarella inside the flower before dredging.

blooms

Photo from: http://www.talkoftomatoes.com/2006/08/zucchini-blossoms/ I believe I paid $7.99 a pound last summer, but some did charge by each, like photo above. Here they are selling boy and girl plants by the “each”. They are so pretty to find fresh in the mornings at the farmer’s markets.

If we threw out these blossoms in the South, boy did we miss out on a great fried food! They are quite pricey in the stores as the farmers have discovered – we want them – so you know what that means!

Ok, my Southern friends – did your parents grandparents grow them? Did you ever eat them? I know my grandfather’s never grew yellow squash.

 Y’all Come Back…. One More to Go!

Hey before I go, I remembered another way I cook and love yellow squash, and that’s a big cast iron pan full of yellow squash, sauteed in a few tablespoons of olive oil and lots of onions – Vidalia works the best. After sweating  them down, add salt and pepper, then add your choice of pasta poured on top; I like penne the best. Probably need to add a little more olive oil or pasta water and some nice Parmesan cheese grated over. You can never have enough squash and onions in this dish and the sweetness of the yellow squash really adds to the flavor. Oh Boy, good thing summer is coming, as I can’t wait to make a dish of this. It’s a cheap, easy meal and tastes so so good! Bon apetit!  

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: Y

  1. Lyn Smith says:

    Yellow squash. Never cared much for it, although Grandma McKinley could make some that was real tasty. No one else could fix it to my liking. Don’t know why but that is just the way it is for me. Even I could never make squash to where I could eat it.
    As for the blossoms? No, I never knew anyone ate those.
    By the time I came around, Papa was buying from the grocery or Farmers Market, but I tried my hand at gardening for a few years and squash was on the list. But I always tossed out the blossoms.
    I have to admit that I never knew there was a difference between Yams, except the way they are cooked.
    Thanks for another great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love yellow squash but never had it in Ga. If granddaddy didn’t grow it then mama didn’t cook it! I just remembered another way I cook it, will have to go and add! Oh No – you threw out the best with the flowers!!!

      Like

  2. mike spain says:

    I remember trying that as a kid

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Luanne @ TFK says:

    Oh yum. I am a squash fiend ;). For some reason these blossoms (in the pic) made me salivate, which makes me think I’ve tasted the fried version before. Please come cook for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tamara Kulish says:

    I love yellow squash! I had some in a soup, prepared by an old Mexican Abuela! It was yummy!

    Thank you for stopping by and cheering me on! You did great too!

    Like

  5. Robin Rivera says:

    I love yellow squash, but I pretty much love all squash. : ) At one point I grew so much squash in my yard I was walking door to door handing it out to my neighbors. I will never do that again. I had jars of pickled squash taking up space in my pantry for years.
    I’ve eaten the blossoms before but never made them. I’m tempted to give it a try. If just need to see if I can find enough of them at the farmer’s market this summer.
    A great post! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would have enjoyed being your neighbor that summer – enjoying the bountiful veggies! We had a big garden behind an apartment building of seniors one time and I often walked over with a basket of veggies when they sat out in the afternoon. They enjoyed taking a few and often remarked they enjoyed watching the garden grow. Thanks for stopping in and Congrats on making it to the end!

      Like

  6. danandjaye says:

    Rocky Mountain girl here; transplanted to Florida on our sailboat. Now I’m wanting to explore all the rest of your blog posts as I learn more about the South. Glad you found me, and therefore I was able to find you however late in the Challenge.

    — Jaye from Life Afloat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love to have you explore my posts. Check out Conversations with Mom – you might enjoy a laugh as you read stories and memories mom talks about or just antics at the senior center that day. I often feel like it’s more grade school but it’s funny how they fuss about things there! Too bad you don’t sail up my way in Ct., but that’s a long sail on a sailboat.

      Like

  7. slfinnell says:

    Always had a garden and never tried those blossoms. I will be now! And I hang my head as I was raised in the sticks. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

