Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: W

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: W

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with letter A and hopefully make it all the way to letter Z. Hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee from Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you make this – how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

WNothing better on a hot day in the South, than a nice cold Slice of Watermelon! Both of my grandfathers grew them,but I only remember the ones Granddaddy Bryan grew. Whenever we rounded the corner down their driveway, my eyes were peeled to see if one was waiting for me by the porch – and yes it was always there!

 

Did ya ever have a yellow meated melon? They weren’t as sweet as the red ones, but I remember them having less seeds. It was such fun to cut into and discover the color!

watermelons-961128_960_720

photo courtesy of Pixabay free images: You hardly see seeded watermelons anymore, but wasn’t it fun as a kid spitting the seeds out? The kids today don’t know what they’re missing out on!!!

A few words from mama on a hot summer night, “it is boiling hot down here (June 3, 2011) and I sure wish I had a piece of cold watermelon and then… “My daddy had a large watermelon patch by the road near the house. I remember him constantly turning the vines as they grew – I never knew why but I used to help him walk the patch and turn the vines the opposite way they were growing.

watermelon-165401_960_720

watermelons growing in field; photo courtesy of Pixabay free images

“We never cut and ate watermelon like you do today – he actually only grew them for the pigs. He raised several pigs every year as he cured ham, made sausage and other things when they were killed in the fall; Daddy like pork,  we very seldom had beef as he would have had to buy it – our cows were only for milking. When we wanted a melon on a hot day, Leroy and I just grabbed one out of the large pen daddy kept piled high by the pig pen – bust it open and ate only the heart, which was always the best part of the melon. Then we threw the rest over to the pigs. That made them happy!”

I called mama before finishing my post and she reminded me of another story…  “I’ll never forget the day I cut a watermelon for you and later after asking you if you had finished – because I was going to throw the rest away and spray it with bug spray in the trashcan. You told me you were all done, so I sprayed it and put it out in the trash – well it wasn’t much later when I looked out in the yard and there you were standing by the trashcan with a piece of watermelon in your hands. I was so scared because of the bug spray that I grabbed you up and ran all the way to the doctors office. I wasn’t sure if you had eaten much or not. I can’t remember what, if anything, the doctor did, but you survived!” I was probably about 5 or 6 years old  – old enough to know better, but I guess the sight of that watermelon still left outweighed any judgement I had! LOL….

My great granddaddy Bryan made Watermelon rind wine – ever hear of it? I’d sure love a swig to judge for myself. I think there might be more to that wine or liquor he really made….Mama’s daddy saved the rinds for him, but never wanted a bottle – he’d say, “I don’t want any of that dam rind whiskey.” HaHa – Granddaddy McKinley did like his whiskey though and often sold it on weekends. Mama remembers the law showing up at all hours of the night looking for it, but never finding it. He lived in a dry Georgia county – never heard of it, well give it a google. Mama thinks he hid the whiskey under the corn crib up at the barns – guess he was smarter than they were! Too bad he didn’t make moonshine – I could have had a better story!

“It’s a storming in Georgia tonight – I know mama is quiet. She turns out the lights and gets real quiet when it storms.”

I think it’s time for coffee and something sweet….

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: W

  1. leannelc says:

    Nothing like watermelon in the heat of Summer – though I’ve never come across watermelon wine before – it would be quite a “tonic” I’m sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kristin says:

    I have had yellow watermelon and it is good too. I never understood why my grandparents from Alabama always got quiet and turned everything off when there was a bad storm until we moved from Michigan to Mississippi and it seemed like all spring there were thunderstorms and with the thunderstorms there were tornado warnings. I guess they were remembering those bad Alabama storms.

    I enjoyed your post about watermelon. I’m glad you weren’t killed by eating that bug sprayed watermelon!

    Finding Eliza

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mama always says she feels closer to God when she gets all quiet and waits out the storms – maybe she’s silently sending up a little prayer for all to go well…Yes, what was I thinking, eating out of the trashcan. LOL I bet my mother was a wreck! One other time, she hit me in the head with the hammer and ran all the way to town with me and busted right in on the Dr. yelling that she had killed me. She had told me stand right in one spot, then I guess I moved as she raised the hammer. I had a hard time listening – or a hard head. haha

      Like

  3. Lyn Smith says:

    I’ve never cared much for watermelon. Can you believe it? Yes, Papa McKinley had one at every family gathering but I never touched it. My husband loves it. He buys it when a neighbor friend doesn’t drop one off for him. He even likes that Minute Maid Watermelon Juice.
    As for Watermelon Wine. No, can’t say I ever had any of that either. Never had to do the Watermelon Crawl. Sorry, couldn’t resist.
    But, speaking of funny stories, Daddy still had buckshot pellets in his neck and arm when he died. As a teenager, he and some friends raided a neighboring watermelon patch and the owner let go with his shotgun. Never heard whether anyone, other than Daddy, got shot. Daddy never said whether they tried that little trick again, either.
    We live in a Dry County but they do sell Wine Coolers and beer. If Uncle Edgar didn’t make moonshine, what did he make?
    I’ve heard stories that my Daddy use to run ‘shine’ but he never made it and remembering the stories of his daddy, he didn’t make it either. That is an unconfirmed story about his running ‘shine’ but it wouldn’t surprise me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NO, I can’t believe you don’t like watermelon, and being a Southerner! But at least your daddy sure liked it and had the badge marks from the buckshot to prove. I guess it was a fun teenage thing to do – steal melons! Funny how Georgia has dry and wet counties – just make it all one or the other. I bet my granddaddy could have made some good shine – I’ll have to ask mama about why he never made it but he ran shine in a way bringing home liquor to resell.I need to write a post about all the things he sold – he was quite an entrepreneur for his time! Sure wish I could take a walk with him and ask questions – he’d probably send me packing – quickly.

      Like

  4. mike spain says:

    Had some fun times eating watermelon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

