Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: U

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: U

 The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I’ll start with the letter A – and hopefully make it all the way to letter Z. Hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

UWhat a toughie!! But I think I  pulled one out of my hat…. How about a cast iron skillet Upside Down Pineapple Cake. Boy I can smell it cooking already – can’t you just  smelt that sweet brown sugar meddling with the pineapple on the bottom – which is now the top – if ya did it right.

My go-to recipe comes from Miss Mildred Warren’s cookbook, “The Art of Southern Cooking” from Perry, Ga. And what do I cook mine in – a cast iron skillet,  nothing cooks better!

image

My tattered copy of Miss Mildred’s – “The Art of Southern Cooking”

Ready to Bake?

image

My Favorite “tried and true” Pineapple Upside Down Cake!

Directions: Preheat oven 350. I make mine in a cast iron skillet – mine was a no. 8 or 9 size. cream 1/3 cup butter and granulated sugar together, add egg – well beaten – and flavoring; I only use pure vanilla, but the extract works too. In a separate bowl, sift together the dry ingredients (you can add all dry ingredients and whisk well; I find it’s about the same thing as sifting. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mix, alternating with the milk.

image

Starting the goodie part!!!

Cream the 3 tablespoons butter and brown sugar together. Use this mixture to rub the bottom of your cast iron skillet – don’t forget to rub the sides too – makes for more goodie  taste! Place the slices of pineapple on bottom and sides of pan. You can add cherries in the center of each pineapple – it’s your preference, but it gives a nice appearance in serving. Pour the cake mixture in and bake about 40 minutes. Turn out onto a dish – serve hot or cold. I always have a hard time waiting for it to cool, so I usually steal a slice pretty quick. You can serve with dollops of whipped cream – more layers the better.

I promise to post a photo of the finished cake soon – do check back…

upside down

Just out of the oven: Tip – I let it sit out a bit before flipping – Don’t as I had a hard time. I would say flip within a minute of removing from oven. Also I cooked it in a No. 9 cast iron pan – I would suggest using a No. 8 so it rises a little taller. But it sure tasted good. Yummm

““““““““““““““““““““““

My husband and I love cast iron  – and rarely cook in anything else. We are always on the hunt for new pieces of all shapes and sizes – especially from the Griswold Foundry. Hey, if you have any you don’t want – I’d be happy to take it off your hands! Hubby has also gotten quite good at cleaning the rusty pieces we find and cooking them in the oven  to cure.

Want a laugh – I often come home from work and see the oven on and make the mistake of asking, what’s cooking? Oh, just some cast iron, he replies. Well that’s depressing – no sweets….

I’m putting a pot of coffee on, cake is ready – so pull up a chair and enjoy!!!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: U

  1. Wendy says:

    My grandmother always made her pineapple upside down cake in a skillet. I haven’t made one in years. Reading this has gotten me in the mood.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was going to make one last night but had no pineapple! Bummer!!! It’s definitely on my list to make as I really need a photo! If I hadn’t been on vacation while posting I would have been in the kitchen more! Let me know how yours comes out!!

      Like

  2. Molly says:

    I’ve only had pineapple upside down cake a couple of times and I’ve never made it. But this recipe looks delicious!

    Interestingly enough … I was born a Texan but moved to Connecticut in junior high. Eventually married a yankee and now we are living in the Midwest 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I will return when I have a bit more time and check out your other southern recipes. I’m sure I will add a few to my repertoire!

    Molly @MyCozyBookNook
    My Cozy Book Nook
    Revising Life after 50

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn Smith says:

    Haven’t had Pineapple Upside Down Cake in a while. Might have to put one together soon. I couldn’t even tell you which of my cookbooks my recipe came from, that’s how long it’s been. Might just make it easy on myself and use your recipe. It looks pretty traditional and easy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve gotten hungry after reading through my blog this morning and answering post replies so I think I’m going in the kitchen now and make that Upside Down Pineapple Cake – especially since hubby went to the store yesterday to buy me a can of pineapple. Otherwise I’ll have to keep hearing, “I bought you the can.” I’ll be posting a picture soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

