Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: O

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: O

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

OSo what foods  does  “O” bring to the table – well, another fun fried food – fried okra. Everyone in my house loves it but it’s such a pain to make. Seems like it takes forever to cut, flour and fry and if you don’t get it nice and crispy, well it’s just not good.You know what I mean!

image

Fried Okra at “Whistle Stop Cafe”  in Juliette, Georgia. Did you know they filmed Fried Green Tomatoes there? Yes, that okra was so good!!!

My favorite place to eat fried okra is at The Smith House in Dahlonega, GA. We keep them hopping in bringing us bowl after bowl until our bellies are full. If they were smart, they’d just bring us one jumbo bowl.

Fried Okra is a dish that is a must have with fried chicken and fried corn – Oh My  – my fried foods. But isn’t that what the South is known for – fried foods. Some people like it boiled – but not this cookie!

And my other “O” food – and yes its fried too – fried onion rings. I  hardly ever make them from scratch, but I have a few favorite places I can get my fix at. Don’t they just taste better sometimes when you’re  not the cook???

Mama loved to eat onions raw when I was young;  you know those Vidalia onions – from Vidalia, Georgia. She swears they tasted  just as sweet as eating an apple. OH, I  think I’ll just take her word for that – she can have mine! I do use them in all my cooking – as I do find them sweeter, but I don’t think I could bite into one like an apple! Let me know if you eat them that way!

I’m a little thirsty tonight, think I’ll go rustle myself up a tall, cold glass of sweet tea – anyone else? I think mama is going to fill her glass with buttermilk and cornbread! Now which one would you like???

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: O

  1. Lyn Smith says:

    Can’t say you covered any of my favorites with the O’s. I can’t stand okra, fried or any other way. Onions, well, I’m allergic to raw onions, so they’re not on my list. My husband likes them, although I’ve never seen him eat one like an apple. He also likes Spring Onions.
    Mother loved onions but hated Vidalia’s. She always made sure, when I did her shopping, that I knew not to buy Vidalia and she would ask at restaurants if they used Vidalia.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s too funny that your mom didn’t like Videlia’s when my mom can eat them like an apple! I bet she wouldn’t now though – now she only wants Brunswick stew now! I left her freezer full of it – she can eat herself silly!

      Like

  2. Wendy says:

    My mother LOVED okra. There was a cafeteria-style restaurant that always served it, so that is where she would want to stop for lunch if we were out shopping. As for me, NO THANKS.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey me and your mom could have been lunch buddies fighting over that fried okra! I get my fill of it when I’m in Ga – then I’m good for awhile! Tonight I even asked for a to-go cup for my sweet tea. Hey I wasn’t leaving my Sweet tea on the table! LOL

      Like

  3. I like fried food but eat it less and less these days. It is ashame to most foods that are really tasty tend to be unhealthy or cooked in a less than health way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Southern girl here also (Texas). When I was young, my folks always made a joke about not being concerned that my brother and I wouldn’t eat fried okra – more for them! As we got older we both changed our ways. Now that I’m grown, I’ll eat it any old way. Love the stuff. Love onions, too, just about any way but fried. Weird, I know. Fried is okay but there are lots of better ways to eat them IMO.

    Like

  5. mike spain says:

    I like okra mainly in gumbo, but it is growing on me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

