Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: N

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: N

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone – how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

NN…. Oh Boy –  is this gonna be hard; it’s gonna be a lot of NUTS in here.

Well my favorite nut is Pecan, and if your wondering how I pronounce it… I say pee-kan (sounding)  while mama says pi-khan (sounding). Go figure why we both pronounce it differently – maybe I’ve adapted a more Northern pronouncement – or not. So how do you say it?

I remember the two pecan trees in our backyard when we lived in Perry, Georgia. They never all fell off when ready either  – you had to literally shake the branches to loosen most of them. That seemed to be my job as a kid. They were the best trees for climbing – well once you got up there! There never were any low branches – I remember struggling to get up to the first limb, but once I was up – I sometimes climbed too high!

At this writing, I still have Georgia pecans in my freezer. Mama keeps me in supply by picking them up at a friend’s house and sending to me. How lucky am I – she shells them also. Last time she cracked them with a brick outside and picked them while watching TV. Now that’s a mama who loves you, but she had an agenda also – she wanted the shells to throw in her flower garden. She loves her flowers and throws everything but the kitchen sink in there to deteriorate.

image

Mama has Georgia Pecans waiting for me in her freezer – right next to her ice cream!

A little Pecan Trivia:

image.jpeg

Well I missed National Pecan Day by 2 days (April 14)! Who Knew!

The Pecan tree is a member of the Hickory family and native to Central and Southern United States. “Pecan” is an Algonquian word meaning a nut requiring a stone to crack its hard shell. They are an excellent dietery choice and can help reduce your LDL cholesterol and increase HDL cholesterol levels in your blood; I’ll be snacking more!

The only other “N” that might match a food is Chicken Noodle Soup. I certainly ate my share of that, but unfortunately it came from a can of good ol’ Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup. Mama hates chicken soup and never made it – me on the other hand – I love it and we have often have it in our house every week in the winter; or if someone is sick!  It’s hubby who makes it weekly now – and cooks it in the crockpot! It’s his favorite pot to cook in other than cast iron; saves time standing over a hot stove.

Hmmm, I can’t wait for letter “P” – wanna guess what I’ll be cooking???

I just know you’re gonna want a slice!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: N

  1. Sorchia D says:

    I smell pee-kahn pie 🙂 Nice post.
    @SorchiaDubois
    Sorchia’s Universe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy says:

    I guess we’re getting a recipe for pecan pie in a couple days. And that’s “pi-KHAN” pie, thank you very much! We had 2 pecan trees in our yard when I was a kid, but we never got any pecans thanks to all those darn squirrels.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn Smith says:

    Pee-khan is my favorite nut. So many ways to prepare them.
    Chicken Noodle Soup has always been considered a comfort food or a first-aid food. I’ve also been told it is a good weight-loss food, though I’ve never tried it in that capacity. I just love Chicken Noodle Soup and crackers.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mike spain says:

    Chicken noodle soup is just what the Doctor ordered when you are under the weather

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

