Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: M

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: M

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

Mama’s Meatloaf is perfect for my “M” post.

It’s got everything in it, but the kitchen sink – so mama says…

MMy Italian husband loves my mother’s  meatloaf – and now he even makes it – and makes it just like me! Of course – as I taught him! I’ve  found that most everyone in the North makes meatloaf to taste like meatballs, but that just never sat right with me! I do love meatball’s, but I want my meatloaf to taste like mama’s!

So what are the ingredients you ask…. to about a pound and a half of ground beef, add oats, ketchup, chopped onion, s&p, 1-2 slices American cheese torn in pieces, and 2 eggs to hold it all together. Mama used to even grate carrots and potatoes in the mix  – so I’d get my veggies. She tells me know that she grated carrots in everything! I have no exact measurements – I eyeball what I add – little of this, little of that. And to save on washing pans, I mix it all up right in the baking dish I’m going to bake in. Why dirty two dishes! Oh, don’t forget to add bacon on top – it’s always needed. If it doesn’t  get crispy enough, just turn the broiler on – but don’t walk away. You know what happens when you walk away! Sometimes I add water around my meatloaf and add chopped potatoes and carrots – everything cooks in one dish! Right before its all done you can even add peas or green beans to the veggies! There’s no right or wrong in what to add!

Mac and Cheese – another Southern classic, but I never ate it as a child. Why? I have no clue. I remember a small frozen side-dish of it always on our table that mama baked for her and daddy. I can still see in my mind that tinfoil dish sitting on the table near them, I think it was Morton’s brand. Not sure why I never ate it, I think I was just a very picky eater. Let’s see, I don’t like mayo, mustard, pickles, vinegar, tomatoes. So that means I never ate salads or dressings, and both my parents always ate salad – go figure.

If you’re not from the South, then I pretty much can say, you don’t know what a Muscadine is and it’s also called by the other funny name of Scuppernong. Still Lost? Well they are the grapes of the South and much waited for when they come into season. Muscadine is the actual name of the grape, with different varieties; Scuppernong is a variety.

grapes closeup (1024x539)

Scuppernong & Muscadines

Mama called me tonightshe was in a talking mood. LOL  After awhile she began talking about her grandfathers house.  “My granddaddy McKinley had a big Scuppernong arbor, it was up on posts with wire and vines wrapped all around. Oh Boy, you could just stand down under and eat until you had your fill. I loved going to that arbor.” 

Most people refer to the red grape as Muscadine and the white varieties as Scuppernongs. Whichever one you are lucky enough to get ahold of – Enjoy! Both varieties make great wine and Georgia has been producing wine with them over the past years. I came across a winery in Social Circle a few years ago called Fox Vineyard and was excited to walk in and find that they were making wines with those grapes – it was so good that I just had to bring home a few bottles. It is on my list this year to stop in again.

Well shut my mouth… it’s getting late and time to go!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: M

  1. Wendy says:

    At first it sounded like your meatloaf was the recipe on the Quaker Oats box until you got to the cheese and bacon. I have put carrots in meatloaf too, but usually I don’t. I didn’t grow up on mac’n’cheese either because my dad hated it so Momma never made it. I don’t know when I learned to love it. Better late than never!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mama cooked with no recipes and laughed about her mother probably didn’t know what the word recipe even meant! The cooks of years past cooked by feel and sight. I had a story published in Georgia Backroads magazine called Heirloom Recipes. It’s posted on the blog 52 Ancestors 52 Stories. If you’d like to read I can post to you.

      Like

  2. Dianne says:

    I love meatloaf and we have tried many recipes. My Mom too made it up as she went along.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn Smith says:

    My meatloaf is simple. I only add an egg (or two, depending amount), oats, or bread if no oats, season to taste, then pour sauce over the top and bake. I use tomato sauce. I can’t stand ketchup on meatloaf.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mike spain says:

    Meat loaf and mac and cheese sounds like a filling meal

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

