Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: L

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: L

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

LNow the letter “L” is one I have a favorite for – Mama’s Lemon Pie – Oh Me – Oh My!

Lemon Pie is actually the only dessert I remember my mother baking – she was a great cook, but not a baker. Imagine… I grew up in a house having only one dessert, no cookies, no cakes. What an underprivileged child I was! LOL…

I happened to mention that Lemon Pie to mama the other night and… “boy could I go for a slice right now.” I’m packing the ingredients with me on my next Georgia trip so I can make it for her. It’s a super easy dish to make. I use the deep dish graham cracker crust, 3 egg yolks, 2 cans condensed milk and ¾ cup lemon juice. I give it a quick whip and pour it in the crust, bake 350 for about 25 minutes.

image

First slice “out of the oven” of my Lemon Pie!

I love to eat a slice warm right out of the oven – maybe because I just can’t wait for it to cool off, or maybe because it’s do good warm ! I swear I’m gonna gain 10 pounds plus, in writing these food posts.

If  you want a meringue on top, whip up the whites for the top. Don’t add them till the pie is almost done and once the tips of the whites are brown – it’s done. Me, I never liked meringue, so in the trash the whites go.

If you want to try to try your hand at making meringue – check out What’s Cooking America – photo below of their meringue pie. Lots of good pie tips there!

image

http://whatscookingamerica.net/Q-A/newspaper.htm

It’s basically only me in our house who loves my Southern “Lima Beans.” My daughter eats them only in soup, but I like them also served as a side dish.  I very seldom cook them – as it’s so much easier to go to Cracker Barrel and get my fix there.  Living in the North, I get my Southern fix on a few dishes there, and when I’m on the road – it’s always a favorite place to stop. I think I’ll count all the Cracker Barrel’s  on my next trip to Georgia – we seem to pass hundreds of them.

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: L

  1. Wendy says:

    My grandmother was the champion lemon pie baker. When the church had a bazaar or bake sale, she could barely get in the door and put her pie on the table before it was sold.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wendy you have my mouth watering for a slice – I’ll send you my address:). The lemon pie mama made with the condensed milk was more cheesecake texture than that lemony look many have. I see it also made using Key Lime juice – it’s good also! I also like the lemon pie with chocolate on top. I’ve just made myself hungry – skimping dinner tonight – going right to dessert!

      Like

  2. mike spain says:

    I like lima beans and that lemon pie looks like a slice would be wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

