Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: J

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: J

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Foods and Memories

JThe letter “J” brings to mind a food dish called Johnnycakes… I don’t remember my mama making them but I’m told my grandmother did. They are a cornbread mixture, almost like cornbread itself, but a little more of a loose batter. You ladle a small amount on a hot sizzling cast iron griddle, just like  you were  cooking a pancake.

I keep saying that I’m going to make a batch  – and then I forget! How about giving me a reminder sometime?

I remember my mother making jam, as well as my grandmother – blackberry was always my favorite, but I think she made strawberry also. Mama remembers watching her mother make blackberry jam and ladling off the foam that rolled to the top – you had to keep removing it as it simmered. There were blackberry bushes all over the farm – Grandmama wasn’t going to waste those berries.

mamas blackberry bushes

Blackberry bushes at Mama’s!

Mama took me blackberry picking one time when all of a sudden she loudly said… “Jeanne step back slowly, right now!” That tone in her voice made me step right back… good thing as there was a snake coiled up on the fence wanting the berries in my basket – or me! I didn’t always listen, without questioning, but good thing I did that time. Now if you have a Southern mama, you know that when she speaks, and especially gives you that look of, wait till I get you home…. Well you know you better stop your shenanigans, or else!

As mama says… “if mights could grow”… well you know what I mean!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: J

  1. janefhelms says:

    What a delightful post! I’m a Yankee, married to a Southerner, and I’m not much of a cook. But my husband’s family has stories like yours, and recipes to match, and they love cooking for a crowd.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyn Smith says:

    I use to make Johnnycakes and Hoecakes all the time. Hoecakes, for those who don’t know, are hotcakes (pancakes) made with flour, water, sugar and a touch of vanilla for flavor, the sweet cousin of a Johnnycake. You can make the batter thin or thick. I use to live on Hoecakes when I was single and didn’t have two nickels to rub together. I learned to make Johnnycakes from my Aunt Laura, in Alabama. No big deal, just as Jeanne, says, pour on a sizzling grill. You can make them the size of your choice.
    Neither my grandmother nor Mother did much canning by the time I came around. I did a little but never any jams or preserves. I did use to pick blackberries for pies. Thankfully, I never had any run-ins with any snakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dianne Nolin says:

    I never had johnnycakes either. But lots of Jam and Jelly – My mom made the best apple jelly from wild apples and mixed with ketchup was a great sauce for meatballs.
    We have blackberry bushes all over the Island, free for the picking. When we lived north Island we had raspberry bushes and a cherry tree in our yard. The black bears always got the fruit before I could! They would just hop over the fence after eating my neighbours apples.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wendy says:

    I’ve never had a johnnycake but it sounds good. Love blackberry anything. Gimme Gimme!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes Love anything Blackberry also! I love making cobbler and even blackberry muffins – just use your favorite muffin recipe and add blackberries. I add them to the batter once it’s in the muffin tin. This way they don’t break up and turn batter purple! Need a recipe just let me know…

      Like

  5. mike spain says:

    Sharing some neat memories too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

