Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: F

Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: F

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

FOK, here comes the “F” vegetables that start with that Southern word – fried – it’s a veggie – right? My kids have grown up eating most of my Southern foods and one of their top all time favorites is Southern “Fried corn”. It’s going to be a little wait before I can get my corn scraper on some good ol’ Southern corn; my stash I had hidden away in the freezer is all gone – darn it!

I don’t know about you, but Silver Queen is the best corn of choice! Granddaddy always said we eat white corn and the animals eat yellow – is that why it’s called cow corn? I’m partial to the white or white and light yellow mix; granddaddy knew his corn – all dark yellow only went to the cows! I loved to ramble around in his barns and play with the corn sheller – it was fun to run the dried corn through the sheller, crank the handle and watch the dried kernels spill out all over the floor. I kept the mice well fed!

Granddaddy grew popcorn too! Did you ever think about growing a corn specific for popcorn? I probably didn’t until mama mentioned it. She said that he was particular about where he planted it, because if it grew too close to the regular corn, it would fertilize over into the other corn and totally mess up both crops. Grandmama made home-made popcorn balls from that corn.

I think it’s time for granddaddy to grab his hat and satchel and head down to the field to pick me a mess of corn!

Look at that pretty corn – it sure did taste good!

Did I hear you ask, what is “fried corn” well… it starts with frying a few slices of bacon in the biggest cast iron skillet you have. Once the bacon is crispy, take it out – Oh, and try not to eat it all! Maybe you better fry a few extra pieces, just in case… I leave a little of the grease in the pan for flavor. Now get busy shucking that corn and washing off those silks. Helps to do this on a day hubby is home – they’re  good corn shuckers! A couple years ago I bought two new tools that I can’t dream of living without now. One is a corn cutter from Pampered Chef; I questioned that one when I saw it at a dem, thinking, “what the heck did they know about cutting corn off the cob?” Well they sure did know a thing or two, it cut like butter. My other, much needed, new too, is a corn scraper I stumbled upon while in Georgia visiting mom; I had wandered in the local hardware store – don’t you just love them, never know what you’ll find. As I wandered around, I picked up a long wooden scraper with the words Corn Scraper written on it – well I’m a gadget girl, so I said heck I’ll try it for $7.99.

image

Lunch at “Whistle Stop Cafe” in Juliette, GA. Lunch of fried chicken, fried corn and fried okra! A “fry” meal! They filmed the movie Fried Green Tomatoes here. Their chicken was so delicious that I dug in before I realized that I hadn’t taken a food picture!

Later in the year, after I began making my fried corn for freezing, I whipped out that corn scraper and handed it over to hubby – he was put in charge of the cobs! Those cobs were so dry when he finished that I couldn’t find one speck of corn milk anywhere – they were dry as a bone!  I’m going back to Buckle’s this year for a few more – it’s one of my new gadgets I can’t live without. If only I could find other uses for it besides scraping cobs!

Isn’t most everything fried in Georgia? The fried chicken most certainly is and unless your frying it in mama’s cast iron skillet – well then you’re doing it wrong! Just Saying…. We only cook in cast iron, except for a couple of stainless pots for boiling pasta. As much as my mama says her mother’s fried chicken was the best – I say the same thing about hers. Her reasoning was because they ate fresh killed chicken – she insists that fresh gives the best taste. I wouldn’t know about that as I don’t think I could kill and pluck a chicken – unless I was stranded on a deserted island – and who ever heard of chickens stranded on a deserted island? I have some funny “chicken” stories but you need to head over to another read at Conversation’s with Mama if you’re a mind to wander.

A school memory of an “F” food is Fireballs – although it’s not really a food, it’s a fun treat. I remember popping them in my mouth during class – we liked to see who’d run to the trash can first. I never could get to the end unless I cheated by taking it in and out and waiting for my mouth to cool off in between. Let me know if you’re a winner in eating fireballs – I’d love to know the secret to going all the way with them. I have tried them again as an adult – trying to relive my childhood – Hmmm that didn’t last long! I bought a big box of them for the candy table at my daughters wedding – they were a big hit!

Mama said she thinks winter is coming back, her and Boo are staying under the covers this morning…. (Boo is her black cat and faithful friend; he’s a very spoiled cat)

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

Or back to Letter E

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: F

  1. Lyn Smith says:

    I don’t fry my corn, cream it, yes, but not fry it. Might have to try that. Grandmother Grace McKinley would take a paring knife and scrape the kernels from the cob, while scraping the cob dry. She would then put the corn in a small saucepan, with a touch of milk for cooking. She would add a smidgeon of butter and salt for flavor. I don’t recall ever having whole kernel corn at my grandmothers, always creamed corn and boy, was it good. Mine isn’t bad but Mama’s was the best.
    As for the fireballs, no can’t say as I’ve ever eaten one to the end. My husband says, ‘You just do it’. Funny thing, I ask him when was the last time he ate one and he said this afternoon. He bought three and there are two on the table right now. I wasn’t a witness to this feat but he says it can be done.

    Like

  2. That’s funny that Jay bought fireballs. He must like spicy foods too! I cut the corn off the cob and make cream corn. They call it fried maybe because of frying some bacon

    Like

  3. mike spain says:

    Wow! I was just sharing memories about Atomic Fireballs earlier with my daughter

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: E | Everyone Has a Story

Leave a Reply

