Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: D

Blogging from A to Z: 2016: D

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Foods and Memories

I was hoping to make a dish of Divinity for you today, but the weather wasn’t cooperating. The humidity is very crucial in making this candy.

DLetter “D” is gonna jump right in with a sweet Southern dessert known as Divinity. It’s a heavenly white whipped mound of deliciousness… Is that a word?? Although mama never made it, we were treated to it at Christmas by her customers. Mama was a beautician, way back when, and her customers brought all type of goodies at Christmas when they came to get beautified…

I attempted my hand, a couple of times, to make this so-remembered Christmas treat and although it came pretty good, I think it had been so long that I’ve actually forgot how good it’s suppose to be.  Sometimes it’s just better to let a sleeping dog lie, as mama would say.

Mama says… “I remember making Divinity once for your daddy when I was going with him. I was probably about sixteen. I don’t remember who told me how to make it, as my mother had no recipes and never made it, but she probably helped me since I was in her kitchen. It came really good and he loved it. I never attempted to make it again though. I never really wanted to cook as a young girl – I’d rather be following Daddy around listening to him cuss in the field or up in the car shed loft reading my True Romance magazine.”

dreamsicle 2

I can close my eyes and remember the creamy taste…

Oh, I think I hear music, the Good Humor man must be coming up the street. Boy what I wouldn’t give to have one in hand right now; just added that to my grocery list. Whenever I heard that music, I’d sneak into Mama’s stash of zinc pennies she kept hidden in the sideboard – or at least she thought she had hidden – hey a girl has to have ice cream money for a Dreamsicle! That was my favorite ice cream bar, and actually the only one I remember buying. Mama never discovered those pennies missing until they were all gone – I bet I got a whoopping  for that!

Hey, I gotta run…. I told you the ice cream truck is coming, gotta get my Dreamsicle!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: D

  1. Howard Chernikoff says:

    Better be good blogs or I’ll call and haunt you. (G)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyn Smith says:

    Let’s just say D is for dessert and let the mind wander. Divinity is one of those tricky candies that depend on the temperature, or so I’m told. I remember one year when my favorite Christmas candy wouldn’t harden for love or money. I was told it was the temperature in the house. Apparently, some candies are persnickety to the surroundings.
    I haven’t made Divinity in so many years, I’m not sure I could make it anymore.
    Dreamsicle is one of my husband’s favorites.
    Great memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy says:

    We never had Divinity in our house, but I remember having it at other people’s homes at Christmas probably. Dreamsicles we had plenty! When the Good Humor man came around, I usually just bought a popsicle, but once in awhile I opted for a Dreamsicle or Nutty Buddy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dianne Nolin says:

    The ones I liked had orange sherbet on the inside and chocolate coating on the outside I don’t remember the name.

    Like

  5. mike spain says:

    A dreamsicle would be good right now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

