Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: C

Blogging from A to Z: April ~2016: C

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

Hey, how y’all doing today…. how’s your mama?

CYippe here comes letter C. …Oh boy, are you hungry… well you will be, because I’m fixing to mention Chicken and Dumplings! I so remember my mama’s when I was a teeny tiny girl. I just don’t find any like mama’s today, and shame on me as I never learned to make them. I surely haven’t forgotten the taste though. Good thing I have mama’s recipe written out in her own handwriting… I might just have to go put a pot on tonight. Her dumplings weren’t the biscuit or big dumpling type though, she rolled out long slender strips of dough that slid right off her hand into a waiting pot… Mama’s secret to the thin noodle was letting the dough rise twice – at least that’s what mama says – and I don’t question my mama –  she’s still the boss!

Oh my, now I’m thinking Chicken and Dressing – and I’m getting really hungry for some Southern food. I hope you aren’t questioning that I don’t know how to make the dressing part – well don’t take that bet as I make a mean pan of dressing; hmm.. should I have saved dressing for the next letter… well I’m pretty close here and it just goes so perfectly with the chicken. Good dressing is not made from a bag, it’s made from your saved cornbread and leftover biscuits. But it sure is hard to have leftovers in those food categories – there have been times when I just had to go and make a fresh pan – just to make the dressing. I learned quickly that there is no dressing in the North – they call it stuffing. I do like both – no choosing on that!

cornbreadTime to make a pan of Cornbread for that sneaky dressing that snuck in on the “C” post.and not just in any pan, you better get your grandma’s old-timey cast iron skillet out. And if it’s all dusty hanging on that nail – then shame on you! Oh boy does it make it taste sooo good!

Unless you’re a Southerner, your gonna turn your nose up to what we did with the leftover cornbread at night. Our snack was a glass of sweet milk with the extra cornbread crumbled in. Ok, I can just see you wrinkled up your nose, but don’t knock it – till you try it. My mama makes a mean pan of cornbread. Mama likes buttermilk with hers, but I never fancied to that taste.

 I gotta run and go call mama, she’s waiting to hear what foods I’ve been writing about. I’ll surely make her good and hungry tonight with this one. Don’t forget to tell your mama I said hi!!!

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: C

  1. Luanne @ TFK says:

    Sounds so good! When I was a kid in Michigan it was dressing but then it became stuffing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Luanne: You know, they both are very good, my stuffing in the family now is very popular and actually a little easier to make as I use the Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing bag, with lots of onions, mushrooms, celery, and sausage. With the dressing, I’d need to make, from scratch the biscuits and cornbread. But after writing so much about it, I really need to make me a pan. Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  2. Wendy says:

    I never cared for dumplings, but I love chicken and chicken pot pie. I cook my cornbread in an iron skillet. But NO WAY would I crumble it into a glass of milk. You and I must come from different parts of the South! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Wendy: I don’t like the biscuit or thick dumplings, but mama’s long noodles with very thin, I’ve never seen any like them since. LOL – no cornbread crumbled up in the sweet milk huh? I haven’t had it in many years, and I might have a hard time myself eating it, but I sure did like it when I was young. I’ll have to run a survey on my Facebook page of my Southern friends on a yay or nay! I’ll get back to you.

      Like

  3. Lyn Smith says:

    Chicken and Dumplings, southern style. My oh my. My grandmother McKinley made thin dumplings, too. She’d press out the dough, I can’t recall ever seeing her use a rolling pin, then use a case knife to cut it in strips. The chicken stock has to be good and hot, boiling before dropping the dumplings in, one at a time.
    Mama, as I called my grandmother McKinley, was also a cast iron skillet user for cornbread. Some foods just aren’t the same cooked any other way and cornbread is one of those foods. I love good ole cornbread with lots of butter. Mama and Papa McKinley would break theirs up in a glass of buttermilk. More often I would see Papa doing this. I remember I would turn my nose up at that and Papa would laugh. One day he made me a glass of it but I just couldn’t eat it. Mother would also break up cornbread in buttermilk. That buttermilk just ain’t good for nothing but cooking with so far as I’m concerned.
    Mama made cornbread dressing but I don’t recall her ever using biscuits in her dressing. Sorry I never ask her and now it is too late. The few times I make it, I look to one of my recipes.
    Wendy mentioned Chicken pie. Mama made chicken pie the same way she made vegetable soup, using leftovers. Like you’ve mentioned before, our grandparents didn’t throw anything away. Mama had all kinds of containers she saved and she would fill them with each nights supper leftovers and put them in the freezer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lynn, I always look forward to hearing your family memories as they’re close to mine, except for the cornbread in the milk. LOL I’ll have to give you a recipe for the dressing, if you’d like to try it. Yes mama always used both of them, equally. I think I asked her about just cornbread and she said she didn’t like it just with cornbread. My mama never made chicken pot pie, but I do and it’s so good. I had never had homemade chicken pot pie until my son came home with one from work one day. A fellow worker had made it for him; we totally devoured it and she graciously shared her recipe to me and it’s now tucked away in my recipe book. I have never been able to eat a frozen one since eating a from-scratch pie. Funny how I had never eaten a homemade one before.

      Like

  4. cSzinegh says:

    Yum, sounds excellent!

    Like

  5. mike spain says:

    Chicken and dumplings and cornbread both sound delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

