Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: B

Blogging from A to Z: April ~ 2016: B

The Blogging from A to Z challenge is to post everyday during the month of April 2016, except Sunday. I will start with the letter A and hopefully make it all  the way to Z. I hope you enjoy the read!

Come sit a spell with me and learn about the foods and memories of my Southern heritage, and enjoy a little Southern talk along the way… I grew up in the heart of Georgia, married a  Yankee in Connecticut and suddenly became displaced from my roots. But one thing is true – You can take the girl out of the South – But you can’t take the South out of the  girl! I’ve learned to eat differently over the years, but I’ve never given up the foods I grew up on. When I left Georgia, at the young age of nineteen, I knew how to cook nothing! I pretty much learned to cook by asking mama over the phone, how do you do make this, and how do you make that; thank heavens for my Southern mama! Even though mama doesn’t cook too much today, she still remembers the recipes and she’s been my go-to person every night in chatting about my Southern foods and many of her memories.

Southern Food and Memories

Glad to see you’ve come again, pull up a chair and sit awhile… I must apologize that I have nothing warm baked for you this morning… if only you could smell my warm blackberry cobbler…

BSouthern “B” foods are so plentiful, but I’ll just start right off with one of my all time favorites – Blackberry Cobbler – although mama will say Blackberry Pie. Whenever we chat on the phone and “blackberries” come up, the first words she says are, “oh if only I could have just one more piece of my mama’s blackberry pie.” Me, I’d rather have a cobbler, and I have to say I make a good cobbler.I wish this “B” post could have been further down in the alphabet so I could have sent everyone a Fed Ex package!

Blackberries grew plentiful on my grandfather’s Georgia farm – the small sweet ones, not like the big seeded ones you get in the stores today. How times have changed in the food today vs what you had living on a farm. How better could it be… just grab your pail and walk a ways down the road and “pick” to your hearts content. And what did it cost you – nothing – just your time! Mama won’t have any part of those big berries in the store, stubborn little cuss she is.

blackberries 1

Released through Creative Commons License @ Pixabay

I called Mama tonight and she began telling me how cold and windy it’s been, then she said. “I guess we’ll be having a “blackberry winter.” I quickly asked, what’s that? She always amazes me, but that’s a first – I’ve never heard that term before, is that something new?” “That’s what the old folks called a cold spell that came around Easter. It’s something to do with the first beginning of blackberry season – all I know is I’ve always heard it.”

image

My favorite Blackberry Cobbler!

What else starts with “B” – Biscuits. I learned to make a Southern biscuit from my mama – it took awhile, but I learned. Grandmama made sourdough biscuits everyday; she pinched off a piece of dough every time she made a new batch of dough and put it in a cup kept in the cupboard – whenever she made biscuits, all she had to do was take a pinch of soured dough out of that cup to add to the fresh biscuit mix – viola – sourdough biscuits!

I start my biscuits with measured ingredients…

If only I could have eaten one of those sourdough biscuits cooked in grandmama’s wood stove. I can’t imagine cooking anything in a wood stove – how do you keep a temperature? Mama reminds me that those biscuits cooked perfect – from top to bottom!

I make a pretty good biscuit, but not like mama’s. I need to use measurements, but she works right on top of her tub of flour – making a small well and working the dough until it feels right in her hands. I can’t start mine with my hands, but I use my hands to finish after the butter and milk is mixed in with a fork. I’ll save some of the specifics for a “baking biscuit” post.

Mama says… “you could have fought the Civil War with the first biscuits she made”

boiled peanuts (2)

I bet you can smell them cooking?

If you’re still here with your coffee, I’ll throw another Southern “B” food at you, just for fun – Boiled Peanuts! Whenever I go home, I’m quick to pull over as soon as I see a sign advertising Hot Boiled Peanuts – have to get that fix in right away! And I always buy a big cup for the ride home when leaving Georgia.

peanuts sold (1024x554)

I brake for Boiled Peanut stands!

Now don’t be one of those Yankees saying –  “they’re wet.”  I’ll be quick to tell you, “yep they’re suppose to be.” If they aren’t wet and salty – well then something is wrong! I’m getting myself a beer, “would you like one”? That’s what goes “best” with the peanuts!

Hey! Did you know that peanuts grow on the roots of the plants underground? I loved helping to pull them all off after they were dry. Those are first called raw or green peanuts and that’s what you use for boiling or roasting.

My mama would surely give me a switching if I dared to forget black-eyed peas in this post. Oh My – what Southerner would forget to eat their peas on New Years day along with a secret “T” food I’ll share in another post; it’s a Southern tradition to eat your peas and …. on New Years day – it ensures money in the New Year. I bet you know at least one Southern person you can ask on that. If not, there’s always Facebook – it’s never closed!

Well y’all  – I think I might have overstayed my welcome here, so time to grab my cup of boiled peanuts and head home – cut the lights off when you leave…

Need More A to Z -then  you know what to do…2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge

 © 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

This entry was posted in 2016: Blogging from A to Z Challenge, Daily Writings and funnies... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blogging from A to Z: April – 2016: B

  1. Another great post. Blackberries yes love those, we have the similar saying but Blackthorn winter. The blackthorn is one of the first hedgerow plant to flower here in Southern England. Would love to see peanuts growing, pictures are not the same. And fried biscuits that is a new one on me. Looking forward to C.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy says:

    I remember picking blackberries in the woods near my cousins’ home. After we got back, Glenn said we were lucky we didn’t see snakes that day. YOWZA — had I known there was THAT possibility, I would never have gone. Love a biscuit — I need to measure too. But no thanks on the boiled peanuts. I’m a Southern girl, but I’ll take roasted every time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, you have to keep a watch out on those snakes – they love their berries! I’m going to work on my biscuit making so I can make them right in the flour pail eventually and don’t have to measure anymore – just so I can! I sure could go for some boiled peanuts right now… Thanks for stopping in.

      Like

  3. Sharon says:

    I am going to enjoy reading your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy to hear that. It’s been a hoot writing them up – my stress level is through the roof though. I’ve got a full plate going; the bills will probably forget to be paid but until the lights go out, I’ll keep blogging. HaHa

      Like

  4. Indywrites says:

    Wow! I love blackberries and peanuts!! I si=ure could taste a few of those. Such a wonderful blog post. I shall be around. Happy a to z to you.
    Could you add your twitter handle to the twitter link above. Also the #atozchallenge to your posts.
    *Inderpreet/EloquentArticulation*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lyn Smith says:

    Boy, you ran the gamut on the B foods, didn’t you? This Southern girl doesn’t care for the boiled peanuts, either but I sure do love some good biscuits, black-eyed peas and blackberry cobbler. I, too, prefer the cobbler to pie.
    I learned to make biscuits from my grandmother and I don’t measure. My biscuits are no where near as good as my grandmothers, at least not to me. Hers were always so thin, yet so soft. Whenever I try to make mine as thin, they come out about like those your Mama used in the Civil War.
    And yes, black-eyed peas have their special place in our lives. And don’t forget that special Southern seasoning, of course it could be included in two places, depending on which letter you call it by.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well good to know that I wouldn’t be fighting over the last of the boiled peanuts but we def would fight over the last of the blackberry cobbler! I can’t wait to make one soon. Too bad I have to buy the blackberries as they get kinda pricey! All these foods are making me hungry!!!

      Like

  6. mike spain says:

    I remember picking Blackberries but I am not a berry fan. Except strawberries.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

