Friday Night Family Heirlooms… telling their stories: My Easter Basket

When “heirlooms” aren’t identified, and their stories never told, then they often become items that are tossed or sold – as they have no history, no ties to the family. So take the time to identify your family heirlooms history and memories so your treasures aren’t tossed in the trash. They are just as valuable as your family photographs and also need to be documented. Sometimes it’s not even the value of the item in question; it’s the story which holds the value.

Friday Night Family Heirlooms… telling their stories: My Easter Basket

image

My Easter Basket

I’ve had this little basket sitting in my house for – forever. It’s one of my own, that I’ll be passing down as an heirloom to my children and granddaughters. Mama tells me an older woman gave it to me one year – how it has survived all these years, I just don’t know. I’ve always thought it as just cute and guess I kept it away from my kids little fingers as they grew up.

Easter was never a big holiday in my family growing up – as it is today. I really have no memories of Easter, hunting or coloring eggs or hearing about the Easter Bunny. My mother often tells me, “I guess you grew up in a cave.”

JEANNE_0002

I still have the same problem – closing my eyes in photos!

In finding these photos of me dressed for Easter…. looks like we did celebrate Easter and I bet my mother made that dress! It’s the only photo I could find of me dressed – mama reminds me that she never had a camera and if hadn’t been for Tom Bradberry, who lived near my grandparents, we wouldn’t have most of the early photos we have.

Jeanne Easter_0001

Looks like they gave me a second chance to smile!

HAPPY EASTER!

Click Friday Night Family Heirlooms to  read more stories…

© 2016 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

Family Heirloom Bloggers:

I started a Family Heirloom challenge in November 2015 asking fellow bloggers to join me in telling the stories of their family heirlooms. Writing the stories of the family heirlooms I’ve been entrusted with, has been on my mind for a long time; the time is now and I plan to write their stories on a weekly basis.

Please check out the weekly Family Heirloom stories of…

Blogger: Cathy Meder-Dempsey at Opening Doors in Brick Walls
Blogger: Karen Biesfeld at Vorfahrensucher
Blogger: Kendra Schmidt at trekthrutime
Blogger: Linda Stufflebean at Empty Branches on the Family Tree
Blogger:  Schalene Jennings Dagutis at Tangled Roots and Trees
Blogger: True Lewis at Notes to Myself
Blogger: Vera Marie Badertscher at Ancestors in Aprons                                                            Blogger: Heather Lisa Dubnick at  Little Oak Blog
Blogger: Kathy Rice at https://everyleafhasastory.wordpress.com/2016/01/29/heirloom-afghan/
Blogger: Mary Harrell-Sesniak at  Genealogy Bank Heirlooms Blog
Blogger: Amy Johnson Crow’s 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks theme for 2015 Week 24 was Heirlooms. Check out her Blog at –  52 Ancestors Challenge 2015: Week 24 Recap  for links to more Heirloom posts.

This entry was posted in Daily Writings and funnies.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

