2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Homecoming ~ 22

Advent Calendar: December 22, 2015

Christmas Homecoming

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

2014christmasprogrambanner1

Christmas Homecoming

Families are often far apart at Christmas or have to make special efforts just to spend Christmas together. The Christmas Homecoming can take many forms, even a virtual one via Skype or a phone call. What are your memories of homecomings at Christmas? If you could have any one family member – present or past – come home for Christmas, who would it be and why?

My Memories: I was a new bride in 1971 and as my husband was still in the USAF, he was the property of Uncle Sam first before anything. So instead of us playing house – he was whisked off to Thailand – the B-52’s awaited his arrival.

By a miracle, Steve was home to celebrate our first Christmas together and we were like two kids on Christmas morning in opening presents. I had expected to celebrate with his parents in Connecticut while he was 8,442 miles away, but someone intervened…

map 2

West Haven CT. to  Thailand -8442 miles away…

If I was granted a Christmas wish to have a past family member home for the holidays, it would be my father. Daddy died in 1983 – I was only thirty-one years old. My father knew both my children, but they were only four and seven – so he has missed so much of their life – never seeing them grow up – get married – or make him a great grandfather of five beautiful granddaughters. Daddy I have a lot to tell you and show you…. if only.

Cousins Xmas 2015 (570x800)

My five granddaughters – this is what he’s missed!

I wish my mother would come here for Christmas and spend it with her five granddaughters instead of being alone in Georgia, but she hates traveling now and it seems to upset her to leave her home. But I can hope!

 

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

