2015:Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Gifts ~ # 19

Advent Calendar: December 19, 2015

Christmas Gifts

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

Christmas_presents_2416800b

Christmas is a time to give gifts to family members, loved ones and friends as well as neighbors. What is your Christmas gift giving routine? Do you go all out with wrapping paper and ribbon? What types of gifts do you typically give? And what was the best gift you ever received for Christmas?

Christmas Gifts

The one thing I’ve been reminded about from my mother is that I unwrapped most of my presents under the tree – before Christmas, and then re-wrapped them. Now why I did that? One year mama was determined to surprise me so she wrapped one of my gifts and put daddy’s name on it. After I opened all my gifts, she reached under the tree and handed me a gift marked Daddy – boy was it was heavy! And it was what I had asked for –  a typewriter – and I still have it!  I remember spending a lot of time in front of that typewriter – too bad I didn’t write stories then.

me in my room

Me sitting in front of my typewriter!

My priorities now are shopping for my five granddaughters and finding just the right gifts. I enjoy filling up a special Christmas stocking for them every year – and it’s usually the first thing they tear into.

I don’t wrap as I did years ago – everything was once all in boxes and you had rolls and rolls of wrapping paper and strings of ribbon, now it’s so much easier to use those gift bags and just stuff colored paper inside to cover the gift. My gift wrapping bag has become a lot smaller – but somewhere buried in the basement are rolls of Christmas paper…just in case I run out of bags!

Why do we take the easy route – because we have one thousand and one things to do – like write Christmas Memories every day – and we do that in the busiest month of the year! Every time I ask my mother for memories, she tells me, “why do you torture yourself so much in all these writings?” Sometimes I ask myself that, but quickly I forget and keep writing. Why – because I love writing my stories.

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

Christmas_presents_2416800b

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2015:Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Gifts ~ # 19

  1. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    And I love reading your stories, packed full of memories. Sometimes shared memories in a way but mostly family memories.
    I will be delving into these stories more closely in the next few days.
    Thanks for the memories and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    Gift wrapping was once a ‘fancy’ affair for me. Wrap the gift and curl the ribbon. I’d pull all my hidden purchases out late in the evening, with all the papers and bows. I learned how to criss-cross ribbon around the corners, then take smaller ribbon for the bows that you curl to perfection. I love the unusual bows out there, which I still use even though I prefer bags to all the wrapping now. I have all sizes of bags, even the tiny ones that I seldom have anything small enough to put in there.
    Yes, I still do the wrapping but I believe my choice is the bags.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

