2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Stories ~ 17

Advent Calendar: December 17, 2015

Christmas Stories

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

IMG_7437 (800x598)

Christmas Stories

Whether it is A Christmas Carol by Dickens or The Grinch Who Stole Christmas by Suess. What is your favorite story? Do you have a tradition of reading certain stories each year at Christmas? Today was remembering Christmas Stories, but after racking my brain – I had nothing. I’d like to side-track here on another type Christmas story that is my favorite!

elf-on-the-shelf-e1384447891694

My Memories: I have a different story to tell here, a story I created for my grandchildren last year. They all have Elf on the Shelf, and we all know that the Elf has to fly away on Christmas Eve – back to the North Pole to be with Santa until the following year.

The Elf leaves a story…

Elf to McKinley

Letters I wrote from the Elf to the girls on Christmas Eve…

…and the story continued with how they must feed special “sparkly food” to the reindeer’s on Christmas Eve so they could find their house. I made bags of the reindeer food for them to throw outside – just for the reindeer. It was made with Cheerios, colored red and green sugars, and chocolate chips. I’m sure the squirrels made off with most of the reindeer food, but the girls had fun throwing it out the door. After the story about the special food for Santa’s reindeer’s, they couldn’t wait to make sure that Rudolph found their house.

After the girls fed the reindeer’s, they hung Santa’s special key on the front door so Santa could get into their house – after all, if there is no chimney, how would he get in? Doesn’t every house have a special “Santa” key?

0d07ef2dbad4564f868dfdd5db92dda2

IMG_7435 (800x598)

I had much fun in creating these special stories and crafts for my granddaughters and hope they believe in Santa for a few more years making it all magical and special for them. I always told my kids, “if you don’t believe, then you don’t receive.”

Now I’m off to make more reindeer food….

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Stories ~ 17

  1. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    What a wonderful tradition you have started for your girls. I’m sure it is one they will pass down to their children.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

