2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Travel ~ 16

Advent Calendar: December 16, 2015

Christmas Travel

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

santa sleight

Christmas Travel

“Over the river and through the woods” as the song goes . . . Christmas time can often mean travel home or meeting up with family at a special destination. Do you remember traveling back home for Christmas? Were there any trips that standout in your memory? What methods of travel have you used to make the trip home?

My Memories: Christmas travel was always exciting as we gathered presents, food and children in the car. I remember the car being loaded with gifts to deliver, cookies to share and excited children waiting for Santa to arrive.

When our children were small, Christmas Eve was shared between the two great-grandmother’s homes; all the families gathered there. The houses became alive with the sound of children’s voices as they waited for Santa to arrive.

For the most part, our travel was on dry roads or of light snow falling, but I remember one “foggy” Christmas Eve leaving Nonni’s house where we literally couldn’t see what was in front of us. Steve drove with his window down as he watched for the yellow dividing line on the road to keep his bearing. The only ones who enjoyed that foggy ride were the two sleeping kids in the back seat – it didn’t keep them awake!

The final ride home on Christmas Eve was always the wind-down for the kids who had been on a sugar-high all night. They were now snuggled in their pj’s, all ready to be carried to their beds, and the car usually returned more loaded than when we left.

My Husband’s Memories: Our travel on Christmas Eve was the same every year – first to  Nonni’s house and later to Grandma Minnie’s, which was always the most fun. It usually snowed lightly, either before we left or at some point during our traveling; seeing the snow always made it feel more like Christmas. Traveling on that night was basically the same with our children as when I made that trip with my parents. The only thing different was that it was mostly adults, my aunts and uncles were still single when I was small – and they all gave gifts; I was the first grandchild on both sides.

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Travel ~ 16

  1. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    I don’t have any particular memories of travels from Alabama to Macon during Christmas to visit Mother’s parents (McKinley).
    I do, however, remember a trip to Alabama one year with my 1st husband. It was in the early 1980’s and we stopped by my grandparents (McKinley) before heading out. It was cold that year and the heater in the 1970 Pickup had gone out. I was frozen by the time we got to Mama McKinley. She couldn’t do anything about the heater but she did give me a lap quilt she had been working on, with four paper grocery sacks. She instructed me to put a sack in another and put my feet in the sacks, then wrap the quilt around me. Although I thought Mama didn’t know what she was talking about, it soon became clear she most certainly did. I stayed warm all the way ‘home’. Of course, the truck got fixed before we left Alabama. Aunt Laura saw to that.
    There have been many trips since but none so memorable. Sometimes I think it is because I was amazed at how well those grocery sacks kept my feet warm. Never underestimate the wisdom of the older generation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

