2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Fruitcake – Friend or Foe? ~ # 12

Advent Calendar: December 12, 2015

Fruitcake – Friend or Foe?

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

fruitcake cartoon

So what side of the tin are you on? Do you love fruitcake or despise it? Do you have a favorite recipe or favorite kind of fruitcake? If you are in the “no” column, do you politely refuse a gift of fruitcake or do you re-gift it or even recycle it as a door stop or food for the birds? Many people are passionate about fruitcake and its role during Christmas time. Tell us all about your like or dislike of fruitcake and your memories of Christmases past.

Fruitcake – Friend or Foe?

My Memories:  I have no memories of fruitcake in my house when I grew up – might just have to ask mama if grandmamma ever made it; I know she made a cake called Jam Cake.

I was never a fan of Fruitcake, just the look of it never interested me to even try, although I see many people buying the ingredients; usually there is a section in the store dedicated just to the various fruits and nuts.

My husband’s aunt offered her Fruitcake recipe to me when I was making the family cookbook several years ago. I love this Fruitcake as it’s made with regular fruit, not the citron-type in the plastic tubs. It’s not inexpensive to make, but the taste is definitely worth it.

Aunt Nancy shares… “I have made this fruitcake for many years and always cut it on Christmas Eve to share with my family. The recipe I found in a magazine many years ago along with a story about the family who made it.  They began buying the ingredients right after Thanksgiving, a few items at a time, as things were very expensive, and money was scarce. They baked the cake a couple of weeks before Christmas and always kept it in a tin can with a piece of sliced apple inside the hole of the cake – keeping it fresh and moist; as the apple became moldy, it was replaced with a fresh piece. The children were allowed to open the cover and smell the cake, but they had to wait until Christmas Eve to enjoy eating a slice. There is never anyone at my table who doesn’t want a piece of my fruitcake!”

I have made this cake and it’s very good – it’s not like the fruitcake you see in the stores. Anyone who has tasted mine, always asked for the recipe, so I’ll share Aunt Nancy’s recipe here with you.

I asked my husband for memories on fruitcake – he laughed – “you mean that cake that gets passed around that nobody wants?” So I guess that means no memories! He wasn’t talking about this fruitcake – he doesn’t eat anything with nuts in it!

fruit cake clip recipe

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Fruitcake – Friend or Foe? ~ # 12

  1. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    Yes, there were fruitcakes. Some were those huge ring cakes in a tin, others were the smaller loaf cakes. Me? Never had one I cared for, even had some that were horrible.
    So, my side of the fruitcake tin is – keep them away from me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

