2015:Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Christmas Crafts ~ # 9

 

Advent Calendar: December 9, 2015

Christmas Crafts: Post # 9

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

scan0109-481x640

All my original hand-made felt ornaments

December 9 – Christmas Crafts

There’s a movement towards making items for Christmas gifts or even for Christmas decorating. Have you ever made something by hand related to Christmas? What was the item, how was it made and what did you do with the finished product? What about other family members – was or is there anyone who excels at hand-crafted items and giving them as gifts during Christmas? Tell us about how you do Christmas shopping and your memories of Christmases past.

My Memories: I don’t think Christmas crafts were as prominent when I was a child as they are today – there were no stores dedicated to crafts like now. How could we live without our Joanne Fabrics, Michaels, A.C. Moore or Hobby Lobby; I probably spend more money than I should on craft supplies.

sweet gum balls 1 (640x574)

Sweet Gum Balls from Georgia ~ Photograph courtesy of:  Bobby Warren

The only Christmas crafts I remember making were those long paper garland chains, popcorn ball chains and ornaments made from sweet gum balls. I just know that I will now be on the hunt for sweet gum balls as I have lots of new ideas for them.

After I married, there was a craft project or two or three in the works at all times, and always a Christmas craft. One year everyone in the family made Mr. & Mrs. Santa Claus from Readers Digest; the bodies were made by folding the pages of Reader’s Digest books; you can check out a “how to” on My Field Days. It’s quite an interesting blog site, so have fun checking it out. I loved her clever idea of what she used for a Santa face; I have some of those Santa mugs…well somewhere I have them. Sadly I don’t have my Santa’s any longer, but I do have a photo to remember them by.

SCAN0101 (640x450)

Mr. & Mrs. Santa made from Reader’s Digest books.

One of my yearly Christmas crafts are my felt ornaments. I discovered them one year in Woman’s World magazine and have made them for over twenty years; I sold hundreds to family and friends. Even though I still have many of my early ones from years ago, I try to add new ones every year. There is no  gluing, they are all stitched and embroidered by hand.

Just a few of my newer felt ornaments!

The felt Christmas tree has ornaments and presents that are movable for play-time. My granddaughter is reading a book from the Advent book basket behind her; I wrapped 25 books so she and her sisters can open one every day as they count down to Christmas Day.

A couple of years ago I made my granddaughter Ella felt cookies, donuts and even a pizza. I even wrapped them in their own specific boxes! They were a big hit Christmas Eve as she handed out cookies to everyone – of course we had to give them back! I think I am overdue now to make more of these for the other girls.

Cookies, Donuts and Pizza felt play toys…

My newest Xmas craft this year are “sheep stash” ornaments- so named because – well you guessed it! I’ll be using my own yarn stash to dress the sheep and llama’s. If you’d like your own sheep stash to dress, check out the blog at Fiber Farm; if you’re a knitter, there are even free sweater patterns at Ravelry. I just discovered them today and they are so adorable! I just know I’ll be looking through my yarn stash tonight!

DSC_0094 (640x316)

My “Yarn Stash” sheep

My Husband’s Memories: Unfortunately my husband has no Christmas craft memories… but he’s contributed by helping me over the years, there was always something I needed cut, glued or painted.Many thanks to him!

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

