2015:Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Santa Claus ~ # 6

Advent Calendar: December 6, 2015

Santa Claus: Post # 6

From now until Christmas Eve, I will be participating in the 2015 Edition of the Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories by Thomas MacEntee and the Geneabloggers. If you would like to know more or even join in, please see This Link. I’d like to personally thank Dawn Williams-Kogutkiewicz of Dawning Genealogy for sharing this idea on Genealogy Bloggers.

SCAN0108 (472x640)

Stephen and Santa!

December 6 – Santa Claus

Today is the Feast of Saint Nicholas and the origin of Santa Claus. What are your memories of Santa Claus and waiting for him to come at Christmas? What does Santa mean to you today and how do you pass along that meaning to family and to others? Post your best Santa story and your memories of Christmases past.

My Memories:  I must have been a strange child as I didn’t like Santa Claus when I was small. I was one of those children who ran screaming at the site of him.

While living in Union Point, I wanted nothing to do with Santa Claus. Daddy’s best friend, Henry Sisson, came dressed as Santa to our house one night, and when I opened the door and saw him, I screamed and hid under my bed until he left. He had brought me a doll, but I wouldn’t have anything to do with it;  must have drove my mother crazy.

Mama tells me I never had any interest on Christmas morning. I’d walk by the living room where Santa had left my presents, and just look in, but not go in. It took me days before I made an attempt to see what was under the tree. She said it made her so sad as she tried her hardest to make me enjoy Christmas, but I just wasn’t interested. I’m glad my kids didn’t take after me!

One Christmas morning, when we lived in Perry, I woke to find white snowy footprints in our living room – all the way from the door to the Christmas tree. Was I excited – maybe so, maybe not. Mama had worked her magic during the night, but I think I had a hard time believing things were really as they seemed.

I always left Santa a snack, but it was a very strange snack – who liked tomato slices? That was the give-a-way as to who Santa really was – my mother! When I was about seven, I told here that there was no real Santa, that it was her.

It was fun to play Santa after we had our kids. I shopped so much one year that I found a forgotten bag of Santa’s in my closet; Stephen and Melissa had already opened their gifts. I dragged the bag and sat it outside the back door in the hallway – we lived on the second floor of a two-family house at 233 Fountain St. Eventually I sent Stephen to get something in the hallway and he found it. I told them that Santa must have been very busy and forgot to bring in a bag –  they didn’t care – they had more presents to open.

I took our kids every year to sit on Santa’s lap, usually it was at Sears. They never cried – but there were many that screamed, cried and refused to sit there. One year we went to Hamden to see Santa arrive by helicopter.  My husband enjoyed his arrival more than the kids, as the first ones out of the helicopter were his helpers – girls with very long legs and very short Santa skirts; Steve never forget that Santa visit.

Now we have five granddaughters and so far they all still believe in Santa Claus. I love seeing the excitement in their eyes when they see Santa and rip the wrappings from presents. My Ella, the oldest at five, just began kindergarten this year, so I expect her to soon tell us that there is no Santa – they learn so much when they go to school. She came home the first day already asking for an  I-Phone and a Facebook page!

Cousins Xmas 2015 (570x800)

All my girls with Santa – 2015

My Husband’s Memories: I always knew who Santa was – it was so easy to figure out which uncle was playing him that night. Our first stop was always to Nonni’s house in Shelton on Christmas Eve. Usually after dinner, one of the uncles disappeared and soon you’d hear bells jingling as he came up the cellar stairs; they changed in the basement. It was often Uncle Johnny, Uncle Tony or Uncle Hubie who played Santa. All the kids gathered in the living room, waiting to hear their name called as he pulled presents out of his big red sack. I remember one year I got a gas powered small airplane, but it was mostly clothes in those wrapped presents. Santa always made an appearance in Shelton, but only once in awhile did he stop at my grandma Minnie’s in West Haven – it was usually Uncle Mikie, my grandmother’s brother.

SCAN0037 (2) (634x640)

Santa arrived!

I have no memories of going to see Santa as a child, sitting on his lap, or even telling him what I wanted for Christmas. Believing in Santa Claus wasn’t anything that I ever believed in. Why – because I had two uncles, Johnny and Frankie, that told me all about how the real world was, they never told me any make-believe stories or sugar-coated anything. They were my idols – I believed in everything they did – and wanted to be just like them!

Like to read more ~ Click on 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas

© 2015 Jeanne Bryan Insalaco

 

This entry was posted in 2015: Advent Calendar of Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015:Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories: Santa Claus ~ # 6

  1. Evelyn Smallwood Smith says:

    I took my step-grandchildren to see Santa but I don’t recall ever visiting him myself as a child. My grand-daughter, Lakisha, was like Jeanne when it came to Santa. She screamed when she saw him and no amount of coaxing would convince her he was harmless. My step-daughter even had me go up to ‘prove’ Santa was a sweetheart. I still have that picture but it still didn’t get my grand-daughter in Santa’s lap.
    I also, don’t recall ever wondering about Santa as a child. Did I believe in him or not? I really don’t know. Several years ago, Mother told me she never liked us believing in fantasies like Santa, so she never made it a point to discuss them with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

