Finally Printed 2014: 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks Blog Book

Bryan Email

In 2014 I took the Ancestry challenge to blog 52 weeks on my ancestors – that excited me and I think I signed up before thinking – 52 weeks! Really!

I was a few weeks behind, but caught up quickly; week after week I sat at night with my laptop in my lap, hardly watching TV, but answering hubby when he said, “are you watching TV”, “yea I am.” If he had asked for a playback of what just happened, well I would have been caught red-handed in a little white lie…

But at the end of 2014, and it was a whirlwind of a year, I had 52 stories with photographs of my ancestors – and I felt proud!

In my genealogy blogging group I learned about Blog2print. A publishing site that will slurp your blog posts and turn it into a book. Wow, that sounded exciting to me, but as usual when I’m intimidated with a project – well I shy away for awhile until I am confident enough to tackle it.

Well, it took me a year of on again, off again, in re-editing my posts and changing out a couple of photos and making changes from my first soft cover copy I purchased in a trial and error.

Today I finally slurped my 2014: 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks blog again, made all updated changes and bought my first hard cover book. Maybe it won’t take me so long when I do my 2015 posts at the end of the year.

My suggestions if you use this service, edit and edit your blogs before going over. Don’t use quotation marks in your title as I found it garbled up the titles. Use compact for pages and let posts run continuously after each other. Will it be perfect? No sometimes your title of story will be on the bottom of the page with the story on the next – but could I have done it this good on my own. No! So I accepted it.

If you’d like a look at my book – click on 2014: 52 Ancestors 52 Weeks

 

This entry was posted in 2015: 52 Weeks 52 Ancestors, Daily Writings and funnies..., Family Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

